Love. Support. Read. Write. Repeat.

Why did you decide to self publish? 

I don’t know that it was a decision to “not” traditional publish, or to “do” self publishing. It just kind of… happened.

I had written a book. My first, ever. My first time… writing anything. Ever. The Word document that was my book had already sat on my hard drive for months. I had no intention of ever publishing it. The truth about Violet Midnight is that I wrote it for myself. I wrote a book that I wanted to read.

It turned out, however, that my best friend really liked it. Some family members read it, too, and they all enjoyed it. Even my 80 year old grandfather liked it. Which is great. That my Gramps has openly enjoyed a paranormal romance novel that I have written, is just awesome.

I don’t know what I was doing. Google-ing. And I came across an article that was “5 ways to self publish” or something or other.

Self publish.

I had no idea what that even meant.

As it turned out, it was the best option for me. For my books.

The Enchanters books are short. Like, less than 70,000 words, short.

I’m pretty good with a Word document. Or a PDF. If I don’t know how to format something, I can learn.

I’m comfortable with cover design.

I’m kind of a computer geek, period.

I don’t mind editing. I mean, nobody likes editing. Or maybe they do, I don’t know. For me, it’s not too terrible. I understand that it takes time. I know, first hand, that sometimes, it has to be done over and over again. And I’m okay with that. Again, I don’t mind it.

This is not to say that self published authors are all computer geeks. That they have graphic design knowledge or they love editing. Self published authors have editors. Cover designers. Not everyone does EVERYTHING themselves.

But, I do. And so… self publishing IS for me.

What was the process like for you?

The self publishing process was… interesting, the first time around. I was alone. I didn’t know any writers. Anyone who had… done this before.

I decided to go through Lulu.

Reading into it, self publishing, seemed too good to be true. I would… what? Upload a word file, slap a photo in a cover designer, and… boom. I was an author?

Not exactly.

Because as I did just that, as I ordered a copy of my book and as it arrived and I ripped the box open, it looked like… crap.

The cover was distorted, it was blurry and… not cute. The formatting was all wrong. Blank pages riddled the inside. The font was just… no. There was some serious editing that needed to take place. Rewriting, even.

I edited. And edited. And edited some more. A friend read it. A family member. A couple family members. And I… edited.

True story. I have fifteen paperback copies of Violet Midnight in my closet that, to me, are not readable.

That was my process. I edited. Ordered. Read. Wasn’t happy. And… repeat.

In the end, after fifteen copies, I designed a cover I LOVED, and I went “live”— which is what I was calling it at the time. That was just the beginning. There was Amazon. E-books to format and upload. Kindle. Nook. Smashwords. There was Goodreads. Facebook. Twitter. A blog! Oh, the blog. I had no idea how to blog. That skill, I can’t guarantee I have down even now. Maybe.

But, it’s out there. I’m out there. I have some great reviews. Some good ones. Some… not so good ones. Comes with the territory. Every day brings something new. And each of those days, I am… proud, to be an Indie.

What befits do you see with self publishing?

Some? In my opinion, there are many wonders of self publishing.

The Community. I, as a self published author, am supported. By fellow authors. Readers. Bloggers. I support. I buy books. I tweet my love. Daily, I spend hours visiting the blogs of fellow authors, leaving my comments, reading interviews, reviews, writing reviews, and so on… Support. The support that I receive, that I give, is, really… Epic.

We are writers. Writing, it’s what we do. For one writer, reader, dreamer—to support that passion, that love of writing of another, is… development. It’s making a difference.

Management. Your book is… you. Not an agent or a publisher or some guy on the street that gave you his business card. The end result—the words, title, story, cover—you manage all of these things. Whether you do all the work yourself or you enlist the assistance of beta readers, editors, cover designers—your book is you. Your book is you, because you didn’t decide to write a draft and hand it off to… someone else. You have WRITTEN. Bled your heart onto those pages over and over again. You have read it. Perfected it. And, you love it. You love it because… it is yours. Exclusively yours.

No one has to tell you that for it to be true! Because you know. You. Know. You know that you love it! You know that you have told the story you set out to tell. And you know, when this book of… you… is ready. Ready for the world.

So, go ahead. Publish your book. What are you waiting for?

What are some bad things about it?

Do. It. Yourself.

If you’re expecting to upload your files, to “self publish” and then sit back and watch the sales roll in, you better wake up. Quick.

Do. It. Yourself.

Write it. Edit it. Read it. Edit again. Write some more.

Ready?

Publish.

And…

Promote. Blog. Promote. Promote. Promote.

Support! Support your Indies! They will get you back.

Don’t want to do it yourself? Don’t “have time” to read other self published books or show your support for your fellow Indie authors? Then don’t do it at all. It’s really as simple as that.

If you don’t think that you can stand up and say, “Hey, read my book! You’ll love it!” If you don’t think you can show some love to others like you, then… yeah. In that case you could be running into a bad thing… about self publishing.

Do you have any advice or suggestions for those thinking about going into self publishing?

Get yourself out there. Shout it out. You have a voice. Let it be heard. The sooner, the better. You don’t have to be an “author” to be a “writer”. You don’t have to be “aspiring” either. Do you write? Oh. Ok. Well, guess what? You. Are. A. Writer.

Support your fellow Indie authors. Even before they are your fellow Indie authors.

(Yes. I know how many times I’ve said the word “Support” so far in this interview. It’s really important. If you’ve been on Twitter once in your lifetime, you know that I speak the truth.)

I have a saying that I’m proud to live by.

Love. Support. Read. Write. Repeat.

And THAT… is my advice to you.

Can you tell us about your books?

He knew she was gone the second her cool touch withdrew from his arm. He never saw her but had felt her disappear into some cold, dark place. He perceived the black emptiness where she had been summoned, her deep anxiety filling his heart. But he couldn’t reach her. He didn’t even know her name.

Elias moved to Hazel Grove, California to get away from the rain, his parents, and everything that was taken from him in Hayward, Washington. But he thinks he may be going crazy when he starts seeing purple glitter in the air, the scent of rosemary is everywhere, and he is hearing a beautiful voice.

Jane is content in her life of solitude in the quiet town of Jasmyn Lake, but when her special magic sends her on a journey to meet the man she has been dreaming about for months, she cannot resist.

Look into the world of The Enchanters, where water has a sense of humor, trees scare people, and love – is destiny.  

Can’t get enough of Allie?

http://allieburke.blogspot.com
@allieburkebooks
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Allie-Burke-Books/192488854097941

9 comments on “Love. Support. Read. Write. Repeat.

  1. I love your interview. So many truths. I know once I was a told no matter which route you take a great novel is rewritten not written. That alone made me realize how much work it takes to get it out there. And then you still find stuff you wish you could change sometimes. You are brave and fabulous great job sharing with others. Writing can be a lonely world, and it’s great to see you reach out and share. OHHHH I’m with you on the blogging thing. I do it, but I’m no pro. Funny. Shared ya on Twitter

  2. Thank you so much, Monique! I would be nowhere near the place I exist today, mentally, or physically, without the friendship of my fellow Writers in the community. I thank you for your support. It means so much to me.

  3. I enjoyed reading this interview, so thank you Elizabeth and Allie! So many good points. The quote from “Emerald Destiny” made me shiver (in a good way) so went straight to Amazon and purchased a copy of “Violet Midnight.” I can’t wait to read it. I also popped over to Allie’s blog and felt right at home there too.

  4. Awesome interview, Allie. Enjoyed reading it very much. The points you made were clear and very concise. Very motivating, really. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Makes me want to get more of my work out there even more. ❤

  5. Charlotte, thank you so much!! I read your comments on my blog ~ I truly appreciate your support. Thank you.

    And thank you, LizzieBeth! It makes me happy to share.

Leave a Reply

