10 rules of efective marketing with Michel Poeltl

Today we are joined by Michael Poeltl who has generously offered to give all of us some valuable insight into the world of marketing.  If you self pub, paper print, own a blog, or have any reason to market yourself then you won’t want to miss this interview.

Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to have a chat with us.  Why don’t you start by giving  us some insight into your background as a marketing professional?

I began my career as an interpretive illustrator who also wrote. Realizing that the cut-throat industry of free-lance illustration would never offer me the pay-out I was looking for in a career, I schooled myself in graphic and web design.

Working through the ranks quickly in my first position as web / graphic designer, I entered my current position as a Marketing Manager at a global corporation, all the while writing remained a part of me.

How has this background helped you better market your books?

Attending several Social networking conferences through work and learning the ins and outs of marketing on-line, I realized I had information not many authors were privy too, and once my first book had been edited to its final version, I decided self-publishing was a real option for me.

Why don’t you explain what marketing is?

At its core, Marketing is the process by which companies create customer interest in goods or services. The Marketing department generates the strategy that underlies sales techniques, business communication, and business developments. Marketing is used to identify the customer, to satisfy the customer, and to keep the customer.

This description can be introduced into your book marketing too. Create interest in those you identify as potential customers for your genre, generate a strategy to best market yourself and your books through understanding your audience, and keep in touch with your customer base by creating a database of clients for future marketing of new releases.

What are the ten rules of effective marketing?

  1. Don’t stop, ever.
  2.  Be on-line, forums, websites, blogs, become visible to your audience and interact with customers and potential customers.
  3. Make your books available to the e-readers of the world, and don’t price them above $2.99 if you’re a new author.
  4. Learn Web 2.0 (Facebook, twitter, Goodreads, Linked-In, Blogging etc…) it’s free and extremely effective.
  5. Build a profile as an author, this is very important, spend time on your own bio as potential readers like to know whose words they are reading.
  6. Hit your local book stores and ask the owner to take 5-10 on consignment. They are always happy to do so for a local author.
  7. Talk to your local paper and ask them to interview you.
  8. Join contests locally (Best of 2011 in your local paper) and ask your friends and family to vote you in.
  9. Write and send Press releases as often as possible. There are lots of free sites that will accept them. It’s a matter of keeping your name and books ‘Top of Mind’ .
  10. Get reviews, share your books with other authors, and read each other’s books for reviews on Amazon.

In your opinion, what is the biggest mistake an author can make while marketing?

Not marketing. .01% of people that do well don’t market, and if you were that lucky, you’d have won the lottery by now.

Don’t give up, you may not see sales immediately, but once you start hitting the forums and getting your name in the local news, you’ll see how marketing yourself is absolutely necessary.

If you want to know more about Michael Poetl, here’s how!

For more information on me, you could send the reader to my Bio on my website: http://www.the-judas-syndrome.com/apocalyptic_fiction_author.html

And/or GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2972105.Michael_Poeltl

Again, I want to thank you for your generous  time and your knowledge.  Marketing is a struggle for many of us.  Having clear direction with can move forward with purpose.  Good luck with your books and writing. 

Next week I will be posting a follow up to this interview where we can get to know Michael Poetl the author. 

As always don’t forget to leave a comment!

Liz


6 comments on “10 rules of efective marketing with Michel Poeltl

  1. Thanks for the information. Marketing is so much harder than writing! (At least it is for me). Especially if I think of it as marketing. It’s easier to just get online and chat with other authors. I love Twitter, even though I’m still baffled by all the little # @ RT -> symbols.

  2. You’re evry welcome. I know how tough it can be to self-publish and market when most of us have a full time job and family life competing for time against marketing our passions.

    • I just want to thank you again for an excellent interview. Marketing is such an overwhelming adventure! having a list of things to do, makes it so much easier. I had also never thought of doing local interviews, so I learned something!

  3. I very much enjoyed this interview and thank you Liz and Mike for sharing such valuable information. Not only am I quickly understanding that marketing our books is pretty much a forever project, that’s also no such thing as knowing everything about how to do it all. Every new idea and worthwhile tip is worth taking a spin and thus your wisdom on this is greatly appreciated, Mike 🙂

Leave a Reply

