16 and knows where she is going!

Nelle Horne is the total package.  She has ability.  She has drive.  She is only sixteen and has already self published her first book!

Why don’t you start by telling us a little bit about yourself?

A)     Well, I’m sixteen years old and I live in a small town in eastern North Carolina. I went to a private school until the 5th grade when my mom took me out to homeschool me, which I am very grateful for. When I’m not writing, I’m usually reading, eating, doing school work I’ve gotten behind on, playing tennis, or marketing my novel.

Where you born writing or was there an “ah ha” moment when you knew that writing is what you were meant to do?

A)     I’ve always enjoyed writing little stories but never thought anything of taking it any further. It wasn’t until I was fourteen and this great idea for a book series popped into my head that I knew that this was God’s plan for me.

Where are you at in your process?  Is this your first novel or the fourth?  Are you three chapters in or did you just finish putting “the end” on it?

A)     I’ve written Meeting Death (Kensey’s Story). I wrote it when I was fourteen. I’m 80% through with the sequel.

You have a book out!  Why don’t you tell us about it!

14 year old Kensey is on vacation. Vacation that suddenly turned better… or maybe worse. Her little brother and new friend force her to climb down a long, dark well. What she finds down there… is another world inhabited by mythical creatures. Centaurs, Pixies, Vampires, Wizards, Lycanthropes, and a lot more. She meets a Fairy, Marcus, and lots of new friends… as well as enemies. Enemies that want her heart-broken, off guard, and dead. One way to achieve that goal is to kill one of her new friends, someone that was more than just a friend. To counteract that goal, she promises her new family that she will bring him back to life by, somehow, journeying to the Kingdom in the Sky, a legendary, fabled location where the souls of the dead are transported. Will she make it there? Or will the haunting, yet enchanting, Hooded Figure kill her in the process for infecting his world with Humans?

Buy the book here >>

RAVE ABOUT WHAT YOU DO:

Tell us about your current projects.

A)     I’m writing my sequel to Kensey’s Story right now. I’ve written 221 pages so far (rough draft). I’m trying to make it scarier, more suspenseful, and more heart-wrenching than the last one.

Why do you write your specific genre?  Have you ever thought about dabbling in others?

A)     I love YA mainly because it consists of fantasy and paranormal, things I’ve always been interested in and because I am a young adult myself. I’ve thought about dabbling in others, but more so in other sub-genres.

THE ART OF WRITING:

Are you a pantser (fly by the seat of your pants) or planner?

A)     Planner. I like to have an outline before I start writing because it helps prevent “writer’s block”. A lot of the time things change and my finished work is nothing like my outline but having one really helps.

How many backups do you have?  Have you ever lost any of your words or stories?

A)      When I was going over my last book, there were a few things I knew I had changed and saved, but for some reason when I went over it again, the changes I had made were gone. It was weird and it scared me because they were great changes and I have short-term memory problems 😉 So now I save a bunch of times, then I send it to a USB flash drive.

THE JOYS OF RAISING A CHARACTER

How do your characters come to life?

A)     They just come to me. A few have been based on people that I know, but the rest I made up. Yes, they do write themselves. It’s the hardest thing to explain to someone. I just get so into it. There are some that are more soft and scary. Some are energetic and love to talk. Some are just mean bullies.

Which one of your characters remind you the most of you?

A)     The main character, Kensey Harris.

Do you have any characters that are based on any of your friends?

A)     Well, the Harris family is my family, Aquilla Jones is based off my best friend Caroline with the same last name. William’s last name, Jentry, is the first name of my other best friend. Friends have asked me to make them characters in some of my future books.

Do you characters like to listen to you, their creator, do they like to pull all the strings and write you into corners?

A)     They like to pull the strings sometimes but I try to control them as much as I can. But, sometimes you just have to set them free and see what happens.

BELIEVE ME IT’S REAL EVEN IF IT IS FICTION

World building is an art form, even if you book isn’t science fiction or paranormal.  How do you make your world believable?

A)     This is the hardest question I’ve ever had to answer. I try to create something that is totally original and different. It’s actually easy to create a new world, and as with everything else, it just comes to you. I think the only way it can be believable is if the characters are believable.

INSPIRATION:

Where do you get your ideas?  Do you dream about them and put them to paper?  Are they your experiences told by characters?  Do you get random ideas from out of nowhere?

A)     All the above. I’m infamous for spacing out at any moment, and usually it’s about my book or just fantasizing about my future boyfriend or something like that. Some are real experiences, but some I just come up with on the spot.

What keeps you going?

A)     Knowing I can make a difference and be an example/inspiration to aspiring authors and teens.

Who do you go to for support when you’re feeling miserable about your book (come on we all have this moment)?

A)     My mom mostly.

EDITING:

Do you love it or hate it?

A)     Hate it. I wish I could write perfectly the first time.

How many drafts do you go through before you feel like it is done?

A)     I only write one draft, I just edit it twenty times.

Do others help you?

A)     My grandma used to write depositions for a law office so she knows a lot about grammar. She’s a big help with editing. My mom gives me great ideas too.

What is the hardest part about editing?

A)     I usually save some descriptions for the editing process because it is so hard and sometimes a time-consumer. Also finding stupid mistakes you overlooked.

THE ELLUSIVE AGENT:

Have you started shopping for an agent?

A)     I sent two queries but then switched to self-publishing.

What has that process been like for you?

A)     It hasn’t been hard. It’s just been taking time. I found out about self-publishing and after researching so much about it, I found that it was a better option when it comes to control over what happens with your book, your rights, and also when it comes to profit. It also shows who has raw talent and who doesn’t.

MORE ABOUT YOU:

What is it like to know that a draft is finally done?

A)     It feels good because then I can start marketing and that’s the fun part, meeting new people and making new friends.

Talk about some of the emotions you went through (or are going through) that you have experienced.

A)     Discouragement. Someone  tried to make me feel bad by attacking me,  saying that my title was stupid because the character’s first name was in it (but then that same guy contradicted himself in saying that Harry Potter didn’t count. ???)

I feel excited when I get great reviews and when people just acknowledge my work.

Impatience too…

How many times have you wanted to chuck your computer at the next person who asks how it is going?

A)     No one really asked how it was going, I told them anyway, if they wanted to hear it or not.

What have you learned about yourself through your writing?

A)     That I have a natural talent and that I can do whatever I put my mind to.

What strengths do you have that make you the next great author?

A)     I’m a teen so I think that teen readers can relate more to a teen writer. I also try to get every emotion out of you as I can in one book. For example, the first few chapters are happy, then the next few are scary, then the next few are sad, and then the last ones are humorous. I also just try to entertain. I’m not looking for anyone to analyze and dissect my book to find some hidden meaning. I just want my series to be a great read, to be entertaining, and to be picked up and reread once in a while.

What weaknesses do have that make you human?  (Yes, we all know that we know you are superman, but no one would appreciate him if kryptonite wouldn’t bring him down to size)

A)     Watching TV instead of writing.

What is one piece of advice that you have received that you thought was good?

A)     Read more than you write. Never give up. The usual.

What advice do you have for others that are considering joining you on this rocky path?

A)     Don’t let people discourage you. Know you can make it to the top and you will.

Where do you see yourself in one year?

A)     The first millionaire teenaged/self-published  author. 🙂

How about 5?

A)     The first billionaire teenaged/self-published author. 🙂

NETWORKING:

Tell us where and how we find you.

My blog: http://nelleehorne.blogspot.com/

Fanpage on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kenseys-Story-Series/145543725516516

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4402815.Nellee_Horne

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/NelleeHorne

Leave a Reply

