Interview with Kathleen Doyle – aspiring author

Kathleen Doyle was a pleasure to talk to.  Her writing process makes a lot of sense.  You should check it out!

BIO:

I’m a stay at home mom of two. I write, I clean, and I take care of my family. That about sums me up!

When did you know that you were a writer?

I knew I was a writer when I stopped writing in my journal and noticed I was getting very cranky. Once I picked the journal back up, writing my daily life wasn’t enough for me anymore. I had always had crazy adventures in my daydreams and they were aching to get out.

CURRENT PROJECT:

Jane is a seventeen year old girl who decides to visit her grandmother during summer break. After falling asleep in the woods surrounding her grandmother’s house she wakes up to find herself in a different world than the one she grew up in, and her life is in danger.

Upon learning of a prophecy declaring her this world’s savior, she and her new found friends must find a way to stop Greggory – a man bent on dominating both worlds.

With multiple attempts on her life and facing a possible betrayal by one of her friends, Jane wonders if she is the girl from the prophecy or a mistake that will get everyone killed.

What other books does it compare to and how is it different?

I suppose you could compare it to Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series since reading that is where I got the idea. The differences are in the world-building. While there is magic in both, my magic system differs from his series. There is also travel between different worlds in both our series, but his is a more “Dream World” whereas mine is the “real” world.

WRITING:

What does your writing process look like?

The first thing I do when I come up with an idea is write down the idea as it occurs to me.  I’ll mull it over for a while and then start taking notes on what I want to add to the story. I eventually write a synopsis and from there I do an outline in three acts. Once I’ve done that I use note cards to detail the important parts while leaving enough room for my story to grow organically in places.

How do your characters come alive?

My characters are always fully shaped and ready as soon as I imagine them. They are as real to me the second I think of them as my children are and my husband is. It makes it easier for me to get them right when putting them on paper.

How do you make your world believable?

By showing the human side of the world. While my main character is in a different world than the one she grew up in, she sees similarities in the people. Not the way they look, though both worlds are “human”, but in the way people act and react to situations.

How do you deal with writers block?

Good Question! The way I deal with writers block is by figuring out what exactly I am afraid of, because, for me, it always comes back to fear. I’m afraid I’m writing a description wrong. I’m afraid I will mess up the next scene. I’m afraid my story is a pathetic attempt and worthless. Once I recognize the fear, I push it aside and tell it who’s boss!

How many backups do you have?  Have you ever lost any of your work?

I have two backups. I have been fortunate enough to have never lost my work… I will now knock on as much wood as possible!

Inspiration:

Where do you get your ideas?

IDEA BUBBLES!!  Sorry, I blogged about that recently and I couldn’t resist! Really, my ideas come from everywhere. There is no place I haven’t gotten an idea, good or bad. The most unusual place I’ve gotten an idea is from an email… And it had nothing to do with the short story I wrote!

What keeps you going?

My family, first and foremost. Without their support, I wouldn’t have made it as far as I have. Next comes all my wonderful friends who accept just how “crazy” a writer I am. The third thing is just down right stubbornness!

What is one piece of advice that you have received that you thought was good?

Short and simple: Write everyday!

What advice do you have for others that are considering joining you on this rocky path?

Don’t ever give up! It’s hard. It’s REALLY hard. But that’s what makes it worth it!

EDITING:

Do you love it or hate it?

I have a love/hate relationship with editing.

What does your editing process look like?

I use a pen, books that I’ve purchased on grammar and character and plot, I submit to critique groups, and I spend the next several days going back and forth between my manuscript and the kitchen (which is never clean enough during the editing phase).

What is the best and worst part of editing?

Best part: the end result being better than when you started.

Worst part: the *facepalm* moments when you realize you left something out of your story that is essential to the progression of the plot.

MORE ABOUT YOU:

Do you ever surprise yourself when you write?

Hell yeah! Every word is a surprise! Seriously? There have been a couple of times when I’ve written something that made me ball my eyes out. I wasn’t expecting to do that even though I knew what was coming for the particular scene or story.

What have you learned about yourself through your writing?

I love exclamation points!

What strengths do you have that make you the next bestselling author and what weaknesses do have that make you human?

I’ve been told my dialogue is very good and very believable. I’m inclined to agree=)

As for weaknesses? My use of adverbs is horrible! I go back and read what I’ve written that day and end up deleting adverb after adverb. I know I’ve used some in this interview=)

Goals?  What short and long term goals do you have with your writing career?

Short term goal? Finish my novel and start the second in the series.

Long term goal? Publish as many books as I can write and hopefully (adverb!) make it to the NYT Bestseller List with every one!

Can’t get enough of Kathleen Doyle?  Here is how you can keep in touch!

Twitter- @Kathleen_Doyle

Blog- writingreadingandlife.blogspot.com

Facebook- http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Kathleen-Doyle/206845806025528 (Writer’s Page)

 

 

 

 

 

One comment on “Interview with Kathleen Doyle – aspiring author

Leave a Reply

