Indie-Published interview with Jennifer Chase

Tell us a little bit about you, the person behind the books:

I hold a bachelor degree in police forensics and a master’s in criminology.  It was not until about five years ago that I decided to write my first thriller novel Compulsion. I haven’t looked back and I have been enjoying every minute of creating characters and storylines.  I love to research and write about “real” crime and crime fiction.  When I’m not writing I can be found taking photographs along the California coast or running my Labradors on the beach.

Please give me a description of your book(s): 

I have written three crime fiction/thriller books: Compulsion, Dead Game, and Silent Partner.

Compulsion and Dead Game are part of my Emily Stone Series; however, they are written to be stand alone novels.  They revolve around a heroine who tracks, stalks, and investigates serial killers and child pedophiles anonymously, then emails her findings to the police detective in charge.  She confronts a serial killer team terrorizing a small beach community in Compulsion, and a high-tech serial killer stalking victims from the computer gadgets they use in Dead Game.

Silent Partner switches gears with a police K9 cop and his trusted four-legged partner who get trapped in a conspiracy of the thin blue line, a long lost lover who’s accused of murdering her sister, and a serial killer that has been dropped into his life.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Why did you decide to self publish?  Or, why didn’t you go into traditional publishing?

I was very excited when I decided to begin my Emily Stone Series.  I weighed all the options that were available to me.  It’s not that I didn’t want to publish traditionally, but it didn’t seem to offer me anything concrete within the next few years, if then.  I looked into all of the self publishing companies and talked with writers who went down this road to find out their success and the reality of the industry.  It was almost like I was doing a profile on indie side of publishing.  I decided to jump in and test the waters with my first book in 2008 and see if there was an audience out there for it and to receive feedback.  I was extremely excited that people embraced my book and it gave me the confidence to continue.

How did you self publish?  (What was that process like?)  Who edits it?  Where did you go through to get it printed and or available for the open market? 

My first book was quite an experience because I had to learn everything that went into getting a book ready to publish.  It was a little overwhelming, but well worth the experience.  For Compulsion and Dead Game, I went through Outskirts Press.  However, I would strongly suggest doing your homework on self publishing companies before handing over any money.  I’m publishing with my own company now – JEC Press.

I learned that it’s important to have a great editor.  You can’t skimp on that part of your budget.  This has been a growing process for me and I can’t believe how much I’ve learned.  You learn new things and become more efficient with every book project.  All my books are available through companies such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, etc.

What are some good things about self publishing?

You get make all the decisions for your book, like for the cover, content, pricing, etc.  It’s great to have these options, but it can be a daunting and confusing task too.

What are some bad things about it?

I don’t know if this is really bad or not, but just the fact that you must promote and market your book(s) when you’re an indie author.  Yes, you can hire someone to do this for you, but I’ve found that many of the marketing offers out there you can do easily yourself.  Have a strong story, confidence, learn everything you can, and network… network… network.   It’s a great feeling when you begin to see progress for all of your hard work.

Do you have any advice or suggestions for those thinking about going into self publishing?

Learn everything you can about self publishing and marketing for your book.  Know what you’re getting yourself into before you begin.  I think that takes some of the scariness out of self publishing.  Self publishing has been receiving more and more credible articles and kudos because there are some great independent authors out there proving it with top sales.

I need a link to the book(s) that you published yourself:

Compulsion

Dead Game

Silent Partner

I am happy to take any other links or information like blogs, websites, twitter info and the like:

Blog

Website

Twitter

Facebook

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

